When I saw the daily prompt ‘treasure’ the first thing that came to my mind was Chocolate brownies. (I’m the kind who generally is packed up the excess dessert without a question, I’ve stolen too at times and no I’m not employed by Arthur Slugworth :p )

I know I sound like a #dessertholic but trust me, once you bake these chewy chocolaty brownies, you will never want to eat brownies outside again, like everrrrrr !!!
Your life’s craving for chocolate will be satiated when you take the first bite out of this  heavenly treasure (though for me its more of a case of chocolate being my necessity not just an addiction, but because of my insulin and thyroid problems I give it to myself once a week)

So the recipe I absolutely absolutely swear by is by Sally, who is an amazing woman and because of her blog my sweet tooth has been blissfully happy. It can be found here on Sally’s Baking Addiction.
However, I have tweaked my recipe a little for a little more of the gooey chocolaty flavour (because obviously there’s no such thing as *enough chocolate*)

Here’s my version of the recipe

scroll-png-file

Directions:

  1. Melt the butter and chopped chocolate in a medium saucepan on medium heat, stirring constantly, about 5 minutes. Or melt in a medium microwave safe bowl in 20 second increments, stirring after each, in the microwave. Remove from the heat, pour into a large mixing bowl, and allow to slightly cool for 10 minutes.
  2. Adjust the oven rack to the lower third position and preheat oven to 350F degrees. Line the bottom and sides of a 9×9 inch square baking pan with aluminum foil or parchment, leaving an overhang on all sides. Set aside.
  3. Whisk the granulated and brown sugars into the cooled chocolate/butter mixture. Add the eggs, one at a time, whisking until smooth after each addition. Whisk in the vanilla. Gently fold in the flour, cocoa powder, and salt. Once combined, fold in the chocolate chips.
  4. Pour batter into the prepared baking pan and bake for 35-36 minutes or until the brownies begin to pull away from the edges of the pan. A toothpick inserted in the center should come out with only a few moist crumbs when the brownies are done. All ovens are different, so keep an eye on them after 30 minutes and use the toothpick test to see when yours are finished.
    image5
  5. Allow the brownies to cool completely in the pan set on a wire rack. Once cooled, lift the foil out of the pan using the overhang on the sides and cut into squares. For neat squares, I use a very sharp knife and wipe it clean with a paper towel after each cut.
  6. For the optional frosting: Heat the cream in a pan and pour it over the chopped chocolate. Mix it with a spoon while it’s hot and let the mixture cool. Refrigerate for a better consistency and apply on the top. Frost the brownies before or after cutting into squares, whichever you prefer.image3
  7. The brownies will stay fresh in an airtight container at room temperature upto 1 week.

 

