We all have phases in our life, good ones and bad ones. And we all have different ways to deal with the bad phases after all good ones pass in the blink of an eye.
I have always been interested in baking, and I would make something once in 3-6 months (when I was in college) just to satisfy my gigantic sweet tooth.

But in the last 6 months, I realized I have developed a habit of baking as a stress reliever. Though I really don’t know why this happened.
I think it gives me satisfaction to control the whole baking project that I am undertaking. I can measure out exactly 2 cups of flour, add 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 2 eggs, 2 teaspoons of baking powder etc etc and after mixing it all up, I’m going to have a  delicious cake/cookie. Or maybe it’s this sense of sugary pleasure high I get after biting into it.

Somehow, cooking doesn’t add up as a mechanism because maybe I have the discretion as a chef to alter ingredients and quantities. But when baking, it just has to be a controlled process requiring discipline and concentration which helps the mind to focus on something. Or rather not focus at all because there are no decisions to make (for someone like me who avoids making them), just following a recipe.
I guess that is what give me a sense of contentment.

So yesterday, I baked a Cinnamon-Streusel Coffee cake. It turned out absolutely delicious.
I adapted this recipe from King Arthur Flour.

Recipe.png

Here is how my cake turned out to be

Step 1
After putting the oven on preheat, I first made the topping. Mix the sugar, salt, flour and cinnamon. Add the melted butter and mix it well. This is how it should look like.
2016-08-29 (1)

Step 2
After keeping the topping aside, I made the filling. Since I did not have any cocoa powder, I used dark chocolate compound instead. However, the chocolate is only for colour, you can skip it if you don’t want.
2016-08-29 (3)

Step 3
After making the topping and filling now we make the batter. Beat together the butter, salt, sugar,coffee, baking powder, and vanilla until well combined and smooth.The original recipe does not have any coffee powder but I added it since I love the flavor of cinnamon and coffee. Make sure to add eggs one at a time and beat after adding each egg to mix it evenly. Now in a separate bowl, whisk together the sour cream or yogurt and milk till well combined. After that just add the flour to the butter mixture alternately with the milk/sour cream mixture, beating gently to combine.
2016-08-29 (4)

Step 4
Make sure to grease the pan before pouring the batter. Add half the batter then sprinkle the filling evenly. Add the remaining batter and the topping after that and put it into the oven to bake for roughly 50-55 minutes. At around 25 minutes, turn the pan around for even baking.


Step 6
Once the inserted toothpick comes out clean, the cake will look a beautiful caramel brown colour. The cake will have to be served from the pan itself because of the crumbly topping.
Enjoy it with your coffee 🙂
2016-08-29 (7)

So, share your stress baking experiences with me and any favorite recipes that you have. Until then keep reading !
Don’t forget to like and share 🙂

